Projects

6 music videos in 6 weeks

Hi! Here’s some light reading that sums up this ridiculous endeavour I’ve been on.

What?

Six music videos in six weeks! From blank page to uploaded music video. Here they are. All links open in a new tab.

1) NAGAF

2) Duh-duh-duh-duh

3) Training

4) I’m So Happy

5) MGMNT SPKS

6) Shmavenue Avenue

Why?

I had a go at these as a spur of the moment response to getting turned down for an Arts Council funding application to do a snazzy version of my interactive adventure, Clock Face (http://www.mikedennis.online/clockface). Also, if there’s one thing people need at the moment it is some light relief (hur hur) and, contrived as it may sound, it was my main intention to provide this for any and all viewers.

How?

The basic premise was “funny songs” and they were initially going to be just that: songs. Then, as I decided to open with a bang by doing “Nobody Actually Gives A F*ck” as a video, I ended up thinking I had the time to do every one as a video. “Had the time” is a vague expression. I did have the time but it was very challenging. There was a point somewhere between the 3rd and 5th, when my neck was beginning to fuse with my spine from all the editing, where I realised, for anyone with other work, this is not realisable long term. Frazzled is the word.

When?

Eh?…Er…well, from 15th February 2021 until today, 28th March 2021 is when they were made.

Where?

Yeah, that’s a bit more interesting. They were all made within about a mile radius from this very desk at which I am sitting now. The Engine Room at Firebird Studios was one location. Another was Victory Park. Another was my front room. A huge amount of footage was shot in my bedroom, which I have no doubt I will regret at some point.

Anything else?

Awful things have happened in the world while I’ve been on this creative journey. I am not oblivious to them. A couple of times I thought about not posting the videos. But this is how I can best help. Even if it’s no help at all.

Finally…

I’m so grateful to Mike at Loek Media for teaching me video editing and doing some colour work on several of the videos (the ones that looked best!!)

Colin (Frankly Jonathon), Alex, Kevin, Heybus, Cinta and everybody who sent me a little video for “Duh-duh-duh-duh”. THANK YOU!

THERE WILL BE MORE AT SOME POINT SOON! STAY SAFE AND LOOK AFTER EACH OTHER!

(AND SHARE MY DAMN VIDEOS)

Leave a comment